82 year old dogset man facing eviction crashes out and set himself on fire while being served. Dog dies in fire

DrBanneker

Space is the Place
Daps
Reppin
Figthing borg at Wolf 359
I'm not a landlord or property manager, I'm a professional with a real job

Lol, you are right. All us small landlords should hang it up and just do 9-5 we already have. When BlackRock and friends move in to take up the slack, you deal with them:pachaha:

For the last 4 years, the federal and state governments have provided hundreds of millions in rental assistance (which are just massive subsidies to landlords), which a variety of landlord and property management companies across the country have refused to accept.

See this is the thing people dont understand. Landlords dont have to accpet subsidized tenants. Just in my experience a lot of these tenants have other issues besides just lower income. And I say this as someone who rents exclusively to Black folks.

Some landlords deal with it (like I have) some don't. Not sure why you think anyone should be required to accept subsidies, especially since you imply it is corporate welfare.

Evictions are not exclusively non-payment of rent - they are: 1) often retaliatory, against protected activity; 2) done constructively (read: illegally); 3) not for any cause aside from wanting to raise rent dramatically; 4) against people who are the victims of domestic violence, disinterested violence, mistaken identity by police, or who are disabled; 5) done to displace local Black populations, and; 6) done when money is available to cover the rent.

1 & 2 are illegal, I already stated I am against 3 but that is the nature of a market unfortunately. Even with rent control if someone moves out you can reset to market. 4 is morally questionable but isn't a huge cause for most evictions. 5 is discrimination though we both agree it happens all the time and 6 depends on jurisdiction and how eviction processes are handled (do you have to accept late rent).