Boxing/MMA/Muay Thai/BJJ Training/Gym Thoughts thread.

dreskii

Pro
Daps
Inspired by the "how long till you started sparring" thread. Seems like there's alot of us out here training. This thread is for sharing knowledge, or just general fukkery/stories that have been goin' down in your gyms :smile:

dreskii

Pro
Daps
i'll kick things off.

I've been training boxing/bjj/muay thai off and on for the last 10 years (more off than on if i'm being honest). In the last 6 months i've really ramped back up but focusing on boxing.

yall - i gained 33 pounds over the last 2 years with lockdowns and all that shyt:picard: (and i was already overweight when lockdown started lol ~198 pounds.. i've lost 11 of the pounds so far.. at my fighting best i was probably 165-175. but this was already years ago.

Have any of yall fluctuated in weight like this? i'm definitely way slower than i was before --> i'm wondering if i'll ever regain my old speed if i keep shedding the the weight.

Anyway besides the fact i feel like i'm heavy as fukk training has been going well. I kinda luck out in sparring because I'm always paired with guys my height rather than my weight, mostly because i'm 5'9 and the rest of the dudes my weight are way taller than me. I'm no dummy though, i know the taller dudes who are my weight would whoop the shyt outta me. :russ::russ:.

Anyway feel free to flame me for my current weight situation, will motivate me to stay in the gym :ohhh:

dreskii

Pro
Daps
Great thread:salute:. Need to get started in bjj. Already a somewhat decent boxer.

once i sort out a few lingering issues with my shoulder, i'm gonna start training BJJ again. I feel like i'm too old to compete in boxing now, I think i'll get my competition fix with BJJ.

Aveda

Gleaming and Empty
Supporter
Daps