Why would anyone look buy anything expensive with straight cash?

Reno89

All Star
Daps
Reppin
Atlanta, GA
I'm fairly new to investing, so Maybe my math is off, but aren't these things true:

Instead of buying a $300,000 house cash, wouldn't investing that money instead generate enough interest to pay the mortgage every year without you having to do anything?

Instead of buying an $80,000 car cash, would you be able to invest the 80,000, and it generate enough interest to make the payments? would you ever have to pay for a luxury car ever again? You can actually sell the car once the payments are done, and just throw it on the investment.

Jay Kast

Hidden Royalty
Daps
Reppin
Flint, MI
Depends on what financial vehicle you're investing the money into (stocks, mutual funds, CD's etc)

Mutual funds (the good ones) average 8%-12% return on investment per year.

80k would return about 8k per year.

8k ÷ 12 months = 666.66 (u the devil bruh lol)

So if your 80k, financed vehicles' monthly payment is less than $666 (which I highly doubt) then it would work.

ALSO, any profit from certain investments are subject to capital gains tax if collected within a year.

300k invested x 10% = 30k a year
30k ÷ 12 = 2.5k per month

So as long as your mortgage is under $2500 (which is very likely depending on length of loan) yes, it will cover.

This is simplistic bare bones math which doesnt account for any fees, taxes, hidden charges etc which do account for a significant amount.

It's my plan as well.

OfTheCross

Veteran
Daps
Reppin
Keeping my overhead low, and my understand high
Depends on what financial vehicle you're investing the money into (stocks, mutual funds, CD's etc)

Mutual funds (the good ones) average 8%-12% return on investment per year.

80k would return about 8k per year.

8k ÷ 12 months = 666.66 (u the devil bruh lol)

So if your 80k, financed vehicles' monthly payment is less than $666 (which I highly doubt) then it would work.