I'm interested in IT

Mandarin Duck

Majestic and Highfalutin
Daps
Reppin
Ponds
I'm a project manager for a web developing company and I'm interested in doing a career move to IT.

I have a community college near me that offers an IT program and I've spoken with a few folks there about it.

I was hoping someone on here could tell me a little bit more about choosing a career in IT and what are some of the certifications I need to focus on getting?

Would you recommend a community college or are there cheaper online courses thay could help me out?

Mandarin Duck

Majestic and Highfalutin
Daps
Reppin
Ponds
What in IT are you trying to do? If you're a Project Manager in a Web Dev firm, technically, you are already in IT.
I'm not really sure. I don't know enough about IT other than I know there is the potential for me to make a lot more money than what i am now.

Maybe I'm wrong, but I'm under the impression that if I get some certs I can go to a more established business and build from there.

What are some entry level positions that people in IT usually start in?

Secure Da Bag

Veteran
Daps

Normally, Web Dev is an entry level position. You'll have to take some classes. CC or online can teach you what you need to know. It depends on what learning environment is best for you.

Mandarin Duck

Majestic and Highfalutin
Daps
Reppin
Ponds
Normally, Web Dev is an entry level position. You'll have to take some classes. CC or online can teach you what you need to know. It depends on what learning environment is best for you.
I prefer a class setting, but cost is definitely a factor.

I really don't want to get into a huge debt.

Are you in IT and how did you start?

Do you mind telling me about how you started?

Pressure

#PanthersPosse
Supporter
Daps
Reppin
CookoutGang
Have your company pay for a boot camp or have one of the Devs you PM mentor you in a 1on 1 setting.