Is going to school for writing and directing even worth it?

DrX

Coming For The Crown (Japanese Dreaming)
Supporter
Daps
Reppin
NULL
I wanna write screen plays maybe even direct one day. Its been a goal of mine for the last few years. I want to tell dark stories about the black perspective but from a unique angel. I want them unapologetic and non pandering. None of that dear white people. I want my stories to make people think. Also like GET OUT metaphor wrapped a social message meets Quentin Tarantino style dialog but with my own flare. except more bold, more vulgar, more uncut. I want to make shyt that is harsh truthfully and just break things down raw.

I have the thoughts I just don't know how to write on a technician level. I can create everything in my head fine but polishing it is the problem.

I was thinking sometime in the next 5 years when im finally settled I really want to pursue this as my life career. I feel like I should because Im an artist and I know how to create and im unafraid to talk about the things people truly think about underneath the surface.

I wont mind directing indie shyt and throwing it out on the internet for free because idgaf about money for material just bills and funding my passions

just not sure if school is worth it but if they can teach me how to write and direct properly...i dont wanna just wing it which some times can be because it makes things very organic and unique. Like my art, I just do whatever in the moment

But for this I was thinking about really just doing it right. I just need to put a few things in place so I can commit full time...

any of yall went to school for film or writing?

BlackDiBiase

Superstar
Daps
i want a i want a i wanna i wanna, just do something bro !

trying to be the jack of all trades, cant even master filling out an aplication without coli assistance.