Trill McClay

*Formerly known as Deeeez Nuts
Supporter
Daps
Reppin
Texas
ESPN.com's Michael Rothstein published a story last Friday about Detroit Lions wide receiver Ryan Broyles, highlighting the player's steadfast approach toward long-term financial security.

Rothstein's piece focuses on the figure of $60,000—a mark Broyles notes as his "give or take" annual expenditure target for lodging, food, entertainment and living expenses for him, his wife and newborn.

For many, it's not exactly a "roughing it" figure. But for a professional football player on a four-year, $3.6 million contract ($1.42 million guaranteed), it's living well within his means.

"I studied as much as I could," Broyles told Rothstein, explaining how an NFL rookie symposium made him think about his financial future. "Talked to people wealthier than me, smarter than me. So that definitely helps."

After plotting out a number that would let him live comfortably in the interim, Broyles began investing money and spending on things any other young, workaday father might. He and his wife drive Mazdas, and the Broyles still have the 2005 Chevy TrailBlazer he took to college.

Broyles says sticking to a budget has helped him learn when and where to spend his money.

"Then you know how much you can invest, how risky you can be," Broyles said. "When I was hitting the same budget over three, four, five months, it was all right. This is what your budget is and I had some spending money."

Rothstein wrote that Broyles has begun traveling for speaking engagements and is promoting a video game that will spread the message of frugality to others: Broyles immersed himself in the financial world. In March, he went to Washington, D.C., with New Orleans running back Mark Ingram to speak to students about financial planning. He worked with VISA and the NFL on promoting a Financial Football video game in classrooms to help teach financial security and planning in both D.C. and his home state of Oklahoma.