The HBCU Analytics Thread

DrBanneker

Space is the Place
Daps
Reppin
Figthing borg at Wolf 359
Ok, I have been doing the "Rate This HBCU" thread for about two months now. I pull a lot of data from a database the Department of Education has. So I got the thought of pulling in some bulk data and comparing all HBCUs and the results are pretty interesting. I am going to drop the graphs here for now and see what people think. @hex @Barnett114 let me know if we can sticky this for a bit.

I will have four posts covering four aspects: high level enrollment info, detailed enrollment info, and earnings for HBCUs and majors.

High Level Enrollment
hbcu-enrollment.png

hbcu-annual-cost.png

First graph is Federal debt only, second graph is parents PLUS loans for graduates
hbcu-median-debt.png

hbcu-median-plus-debt.png

hbcu-sex-ratio.png

The best and worst for getting people graduated

hbcu-graduation-rate.png

hbcu-graduation-rate-low.png

@ab.aspectus @Originalman @#1 pick @Ziggiy @SupaVillain @Tug life @Idaeo @get these nets @MostReal @Bryan Danielson @Rollie Forbes @Willie Lump Lump @staticshock @Charlie Hustle @BigAggieLean. @Optimus Prime @How Sway? @DropTopDoc @Anerdyblackguy @Peachstate @dora_da_destroyer

Last edited:

DrBanneker

Space is the Place
Daps
Reppin
Detailed Enrollment

First graph are the HBCUs with the highest percentage of first generation students while the second graph is the list of HBCUs with the lowest percentage of first generation students.
hbcu-first-gen-most.png

hbcu-first-gen-least.png

These two graphs are demographics. The first is the percent of students from households of $100k plus (hint Hampton has a bougie rep for a reason). The second are percent of students where the household is under $30k
hbcu-high-inc.png

hbcu-low-inc.png

DrBanneker

Space is the Place
Daps
Reppin
HBCU Major Earnings

Note these typically don't account for people who get higher (grad school) degrees I think