Anyone ever did freelance writing?

Vandelay

Waxing Intellectual
Daps
Reppin
Phi Chi Connection
I studied broadcasting and mass media in college, so I not only produced media, but I wrote a helluva lot in college. I'm not doing anything remotely close to it now. I'm looking to get into as a side-hustle, but I'm having some trouble breaking into some of the blogs and publications I would like to go for.

Any tips on how to get my foot in the door?

Jimmy from Linkedin

All Star
Supporter
Daps
Reppin
Managing Director at Breh & Breh, Inc
My aunt started on UpWork (it used to be called eLance back in the day).

Getting the first gig is going to be the most difficult but if you can write about something everyone is hiring content writers for content marketing. Humble yourself and grind it out. Once you can start doing that then you should be good.

OTOH. If you know there is a topic you'd like to write about, consider something more local and writing on that topic for them. Having especially print by lines can be helpful for establishing credibility.

Cereal_Bowl_Assassin

Superstar
Supporter
Daps
I currently do that now as a side gig. Someone reached out to me when they read a couple of my medium post about software engineering.

To my surprise there are plenty of sites (well within tech) that are looking for writers.

What topics do you write about?

Vandelay

Waxing Intellectual
Daps
Reppin
Phi Chi Connection
My aunt started on UpWork (it used to be called eLance back in the day).

Getting the first gig is going to be the most difficult but if you can write about something everyone is hiring content writers for content marketing. Humble yourself and grind it out. Once you can start doing that then you should be good.

OTOH. If you know there is a topic you'd like to write about, consider something more local and writing on that topic for them. Having especially print by lines can be helpful for establishing credibility.