Basic Question about a 401k (really basic)

El_Mero_Mero

All Star
Daps
Reppin
NULL
If I work at a company offering me a 401k and I choose to enroll in it, but then I quit after a year at the company. And then, 5 years later I get rehired by the company, will the money I earned in my 401k previously still be there?

You can tell that I have no experience with 401ks, and will probably only have a Roth IRA, but just in case, I would like to know the answer to this seemingly common sense question.

PoorAndDangerous

Superstar
Daps
Depends on if you leave it in the plan there or transfer the $ out
This. Normally you would roll it over into your new employers 401k plan. If your employer matches your 401k contributions you’ll also want to look at how many years you need to stay with them to be 100% vested otherwise you could lose a decent chunk of change from your 401k for leaving. Also you should probably have a 401k (most 401k plans allow you to choose a Roth 401 fyi) and a Roth IRA since there is a contribution limit on the Roth IRA. While you’re at it I would look at how your 401k is setup. Some of those managed funds have super high fees and you can select an option with less.

Hahahaha

All Star
Daps
This. Normally you would roll it over into your new employers 401k plan. If your employer matches your 401k contributions you’ll also want to look at how many years you need to stay with them to be 100% vested otherwise you could lose a decent chunk of change from your 401k for leaving. Also you should probably have a 401k (most 401k plans allow you to choose a Roth 401 fyi) and a Roth IRA since there is a contribution limit on the Roth IRA. While you’re at it I would look at how your 401k is setup. Some of those managed funds have super high fees and you can select an option with less.

Should likely choose the 401K over the IRA (unless you can afford both) as I'm assuming his company offers some type of match.

dora_da_destroyer

Master Baker
Daps
Reppin
Oakland