Hey brehs, help me decide my next job & the steps to take to be qualified for it

Macallik86

Superstar
Supporter
Daps
Background
I think I've hit my ceiling as an entry-level analyst. The only thing I see in my future are annual raises that would underperform a cost of living adjustment. I've saved up an emergency fund, so in the spring, I plan to finally quit my job. I've been working for 7 years straight and so I want to take a month or three to decompress.

My ideal lifestyle would be trading my own money in the stock market. I will be doing that during my unemployed period but I know how improbable it is long term, so I also plan to teach myself the skills required to demand more money. The question I have is what skills are required and what path should I take to get there?

Macallik86

Superstar
Supporter
Daps
Current Skillset
  • Proficient in:
    • Excel
    • SQL
    • VBA
  • Exposed to (But do not use regularly)
    • R
    • Power BI
Some Potential Job ideas:
In terms of my job, I prefer a job that gives me autonomy and independence if desired. As long as I can put my earphones in and listen to music/podcasts in the background, I'm content. Ideas that crossed my mind include:

Analyst job: My statistical background is sub-par currently but after a few months of studying, I could confidently apply to jobs with a polished skillset.
Database-related job: Given my current use of SQL, building on an existing skillset is a legit option.
Coding/Developer job: I have had little exposure to coding so far, but I am a natural problem solver so if it pays the bills, I wouldn't mind it.
?????: I'm currently still pretty open-minded if anyone has suggestions.

Course of Action
Going back to school for a degree is not desirable if possible. I want to be efficient & self-sufficient so, to me I'd rather do things like online courses, read textbooks and get certifications.