New coworker making 15k more - how to get a raise

ABlackMan

Superstar
Daps
Reppin
The Hood America
You ask. They say no. You leave.

4i5ojz7_d.webp

Quickest way to get a raise is to job hop (in a healthy way). You could probably commande 75k or some shyt out there in the open market just like breh came up at y'all spot. Don't sell yourself short
What’s healthy in terms of job hopping bruh

Trav

Marathon Mentality 🏁
Supporter
Daps
Reppin
TMC 8-24
What’s healthy in terms of job hopping bruh
Well, for me, I just left my job and got a $13 raise, mainly off of getting a cert thru Udacity but I was at my last gig for 3 years before splitting

When I say a healthy way, I just mean not job hopping multiple times a year and shyt the min u not happy

Ayo

SOHH 2001
Supporter
Daps
Reppin
Back in MIA
I know brehs are going to call cap and im careful with what i reveal because im an executive at a tech company. but i went from 55k to 260k (base + salary bonus) in 9 years this past June. ive never done the math on what my TC (total compensation) is but I got crazy health insurance, some 401k matching, few other things, half a million in options (unfortunately, wish they were RSUs) so it has to be somewhere in the 300s. If you ask me, I'm still technically underpaid.

OP if you want my opinion and not the story then just skip to the bottom to the two bolded parts.

Maybe this will give a little game or give hope to some of my hopeless Brehs reading this. I switched careers right at the 31 mark (this is why I laugh at 20 year olds in here ready to give up) which netted me a 15k jump to $70k (from 55). It was at a tech company in a customer facing role. I naively applied for a product manager position thinking that I had a chance (Product Management was popular but not as sexy a decade ago as it is now with the TikTok crowd) and got a call from another manager in another department who was interested and got my foot in the door.