The United States Military Academy at West Point selects its first Black Woman as First Captain

Jimi Swagger

I say whatever I think should be said
Supporter
Daps
Reppin
Turtle Island to DXB
Source blog: http://www.lelavictoria.com/the-uni...selects-its-first-black-female-first-captain/

History has officially been made and I am so excited about the fact that my undergrad (Alma Mater) has selected a Black Woman ( for the first time ) as the First Captain for the 2017-2018 school year “Simone Askew of Fairfax, Virginia”

For those of you who do not know, I am a graduate of the United States Military Academy at West Point and a member of the Class of 2012. Also if you have never heard of West Point please hit up your local search engine.

West Point was established 215 years ago, in 1802 with females being admitted in 1976 and the first black female graduates earning the title of West Point graduate in 1980 ( Pat Walker Locke and Joy Dallas). The First Captain is the highest ranking cadet at West Point and a position that is highly respected.

My mentor Moni called me to give me the exciting news. I literally hopped up to dance and twerk a bit. That’s how I celebrate in all of my Black Girl Magic Essence. The news was shocking and uplifting all at the same time. When my sisters WIN we all win.

The West Point student body population consists mainly of white males so having a black female as first captain is definitely a big deal. I’m interested in how the student body aka Corps of Cadets will respond to the selection. I’m definitely going to make it my buisiness to call out any negativity that I see.

It’s amazing to see how far society and West Point has evolved and it warms my heart dearly to know that a Phenomenal Black Woman has literally made it to the top with the help of those awesome women who have paved the way. Such as the first black woman to hold the position of Cadet Sergeant Major ” Emily Perez”