“WHY DOESN’T MY FAMILY BELIEVE I DON’T WANT KIDS?” AND THE BEST WAY TO APPROACH WOMEN

Doobie Doo

Veteran
Daps
Reppin
Raleigh, NC
ASK AGATHA: “WHY DOESN’T MY FAMILY BELIEVE I DON’T WANT KIDS?” AND THE BEST WAY TO APPROACH WOMEN
Agatha Guilluame, 1/12/16
no-kids.jpg

Angelique from Atlanta, GA asks:

Why is it, family feel like they can say anything to you? Yes I’m 36. Yes I’m single. No I don’t want kids. But they don’t believe me. They just dismiss me. I mean I have a master’s degree, a great job, my own home and a healthy savings and yet my mother and my aunts still look at me with pity. And my “barrenness” somehow always becomes the topic of discussion. It’s infuriating. How do I make them stand down once and for all?

Get pregnant?

Listen how do you make any family member stand down on anything? Apparently, when I was a baby I was all hair and eyes and my then 10 year old, highly impressionable uncle who had just seen the Gremlins (it debuted in theaters that year) immediately nicknamed me after the main Gremlin, Mogwai.

That’s my name now.

And to my family that will always be my name.

So I answer to it because nothing I could’ve done over the years would’ve made a bit of difference.

And until you get pregnant, your barrenness will always be a topic of conversation.

So fall into it.

A fundamental fact of our biology is the propagation of the species, so why do you think Aunt Claudia is going to believe you when you tell her you don’t want kids?

Angela. You need more people because I’m at the kitchen table with your mama and ‘em talking shyt about you too.