Brehs, I would love your advice. pls help. PLEASE (story inside)

eternalpangs

Rookie
Daps
Okay, this is a bit of a long story. I've asked some of my friends about it, but I'm really young (lower 20s) and people my age dont usually go through ridiculous stuff like this.

Its a two pronged story and I dont necessarily know what to do. PLEASE HELP ME.

Quick background : I'm a super senior (now) in college. My family is nigerian, so yeah, they're crazy. My mom has cancer (breast, lung, & brain tumors), and also a medical history (strokes, heart attacks) so I really try not to stress her out. I'm a full scholarship honors student with a 3.5 .

Its 2013 - Im going to an HBCU and at this point (i think 2 - 3 years ago), I was a bio major on the premed track (sophomore). By this time, I had a feeling that this is NOT something I could possibly do for the rest of my life. I didn't nessessarily hate medicine, but I hated hospitals.

If you know nigerian parents, you would know that you practically only have 4 choices for a career :stopitslime:. So I try to tell my family that I want to change my major, but they are NOT having it. If I even tried to bring up the subject they would cut me off and argue me down. I hated talking to them about this (and pretty much anything).

In the middle of the fall semester, my mother called me and asked me about my "future plans" (med school, etc). Once again I told her that I wasn't sure about med school, and sure enough, we got into an arguement. She hung up on ME. I was perfectly okay with this,:yeshrug: and went back to doing my work.

The next day, however, My uncle calls me and totally argues me down to a point where I'm in tears. I told him i wanted to change my major to Agricultre or plant biology. He disregards me and argues w me. At this point, I'm so upset that I hang up on HIM. I've never felt more disrespected by my family as a whole. I dont go home thanksgiving weekend (or I only go for a day or so, can't remember).