Career Profiles: Supply Chain

Vandelay

Waxing Intellectual
Daps
Reppin
Phi Chi Connection
I teased this last week to see how much interest there was in doing it, and a number of y'all responded.

I noticed a number of folks on this board ask about various jobs, how to get into certain career paths. Over the 9 or so years I’ve been posting on the board, there’s a lot of us on here that are pretty accomplished, but most of us aren’t wearing it on our sleeve. Likewise, there’s a number of us that are just searching for information on what’s possible.

As a black man, in my years I’ve come to realize we have a number of things working against us societally, but the biggest issue bar-none is we simply don’t know what’s available to us; what we personally would be a good fit for and how to get your foot in the door. I personally floundered around for about 6 years after I graduated college before I got into this career path and hit my stride. I was 29 when I finally said this is my career and I started to make some decent money from it. Had I known what was available, I could’ve been doing the same work straight out of college or the military at 21-22 making the same money.

There are literally thousands of different career profiles we could do, but I don’t have the time, bandwidth, and I’m sure no one is trying to read all of that anyway. So, I’ve narrowed it down to 19 different sectors:

· Advertising and marketing
· Aerospace/Automotive
· Agriculture
· Computers and technology
· Construction
· Education
· Energy and Mining
· Entertainment
· Fashion
· Finance
· Food and beverage
· Health care
· Hospitality
· Law and security
· Media and news
· Pharmaceutical
· Supply Chain/Manufacturing
· Telecommunication
· Transportation