Do I need experience to pass the Comptia Sec + exam?

Child_Of_God

Love is a long road.
Daps
Reppin
Washington D.C.
I took and passed my A+ exam yesterday. I studied for about a month and gotten a pretty good score on it so I’m very proud of that.

I’ve decided to skip getting Network + and go straight to getting security + because I’ve always been interested in that field but from what I been told I need at least a few years of experience as a IT administrator to pass it.

I was wondering if anyone on here have been able to pass it without much experience at all. I would really just rather get the cert as early as next year.

Deuterion

Superstar
Supporter
Daps
Reppin
LBC
Network doesn’t really interest me tbh and I heard you don’t even need to do it to get Security.

nikka how TF you gonna understand security if you don’t know Network? People like you get these Certs and you get on the job and don’t know shyt. I see it time and time again...y’all are devaluing Certs. This dude had a CCNA verified online I told this muhfukka to draw a switch and demonstrate how it works...he had no clue. Freaking joke!

Dafunkdoc_Unlimited

Theological Noncognitivist Since Birth
Daps
Reppin
The Wrong Side of the Tracks
Son_Of_God said:
Network doesn’t really interest me tbh and I heard you don’t even need to do it to get Security.

Then you won't be able to effectively troubleshoot issues that arise without depending on someone who DOES have networking, thus, you are limited to being a subordinate instead of a supervisor.

I don't know of any security system that ISN'T network dependent, but that isn't my primary field.

I'll leave the critiques to those who are more qualified to talk about it.​

Deuterion

Superstar
Supporter
Daps
Reppin
LBC
Then you won't be able to effectively troubleshoot issues that arise without depending on someone who DOES have networking, thus, you are limited to being a subordinate instead of a supervisor.