Trades vs IT?

The BasedFather

Task Force
Daps
Reppin
Bltch Mob
Broad question but which career path do you think is better to go down long term?

Im currently an HVAC tech, but interested in IT. Both fields you can do anywhere around the world and both are in high demand.

Which has the higher earning potential and more sustainable?

Which would you do?

Stuntone

Louisiana Made, DC PAID!
Daps
Reppin
IT Cert-Gang Mafia, GMB and HOH
Trades in the long run. IT will get u paid 6 figures fast, but their are ceilings. Trades are probably more fulfilling and healthier, men aren't suppose to sit at a computer 40+ hours a week. Trades are way easier to start your own company.

I'm trying to grab some IT government contracts myself. Its hell

the bossman

Superstar
Daps
Reppin
Norfeast D.C.
Broad question but which career path do you think is better to go down long term?

Im currently an HVAC tech, but interested in IT. Both fields you can do anywhere around the world and both are in high demand.

Which would you do?
Think bigger and do both. If you've already got good experience in HVAC then pick up some IT knowledge. Focus on IoT specifically. It is going to revolutionize that industry. At a certain point all those systems are going to be connected online. You would be setup very well if you understand both

CopiousX

Superstar
Supporter
Daps

Which would you do?
Depends on you tolerance for books and reading. Let's not pretend that a dude who ain't picked up a book since 10th grade will magically get his ccna certs. That's person better suited for hands on learning.

As for salary, trades wins because it's scalableeasily by getting employees. But early on it will win when you must work for someone else

BaggerofTea

Veteran
Supporter
Daps