IT Certifications and Careers (Official Discussion Thread)

Black Cobain

Donkey Punch? I Donkey Slap!
Joined
Dec 20, 2015
Messages
7,581
Reputation
2,795
Daps
23,106
Reppin
New Afrika
Alright brehs, for context:
-I'm 18 in a 3 year masonry program, but I want a back up just in case
-Always been paranoid about internet privacy and know the bare minimum about keeping myself "invisible"
-Doubt it'll help in IT but I have 2 certs already (1 in Adobe Flash, 1 in Adobe Illustrator)

So basically, would it be a good idea for a novice to start out in cyber security? If so where should I start? If not, what else would suit me?

I've signed up for Cybrary courses to get somewhat of an idea of what i'll be doing too.
 

ViShawn

Superstar
Supporter
Joined
Aug 26, 2015
Messages
15,469
Reputation
6,018
Daps
52,234
Bombed my coding interview with LinkedIn but that was to be expected

I told the LinkedIn guy after the fizz buzz question that this is a gap in my knowledge I need to learn then I left the phone call
 

GollyImGully

Too many wavy women, gotta log outta IG
Joined
May 4, 2012
Messages
10,592
Reputation
2,359
Daps
34,790
Reppin
Brooklyn
Bombed my coding interview with LinkedIn but that was to be expected

I told the LinkedIn guy after the fizz buzz question that this is a gap in my knowledge I need to learn then I left the phone call

Did you get get some what close to the answer?

One way to do FizzBuzz in python if anyone is curious :ufdup:

for i in range(1,101):
if i % 15 == 0:
print("FizzBuzz")
elif i % 3 == 0:
print("Fizz")
elif i % 5 == 0:
print("Buzz")
else:
print(i)
 

ViShawn

Superstar
Supporter
Joined
Aug 26, 2015
Messages
15,469
Reputation
6,018
Daps
52,234
Did you get get some what close to the answer?

One way to do FizzBuzz in python if anyone is curious :ufdup:

for i in range(1,101):
if i % 15 == 0:
print("FizzBuzz")
elif i % 3 == 0:
print("Fizz")
elif i % 5 == 0:
print("Buzz")
else:
print(i)

I did the Fizz Buzz correct. Me personally I didn't do use range. That's a cleaner way to do it instead of me doing number +=1 to iterate it over and over to 100.

The other one was regarding reading lines and parsing them



f = open('nginx.log', 'r')

file = f.readlines()
for line in file:
print file

length = len(file)
print length,' line(s) '
f.close()

I was doing this on there, but he also wanted me to parse and split the files, so clearly I'd use something like argparse for that. Also print the length of each line for him.

I'm just not as comfortable in writing in Python. I never felt I could write anything worthwhile in my Operations roles. Most of the time honestly I use bash for my tasks.

My goal in my previous SRE role was to do more of that, but I was only there less than a year. I did get a certification though so it wasn't all in vain.
 

GollyImGully

Too many wavy women, gotta log outta IG
Joined
May 4, 2012
Messages
10,592
Reputation
2,359
Daps
34,790
Reppin
Brooklyn
I did the Fizz Buzz correct. Me personally I didn't do use range. That's a cleaner way to do it instead of me doing number +=1 to iterate it over and over to 100.

The other one was regarding reading lines and parsing them



f = open('nginx.log', 'r')

file = f.readlines()
for line in file:
print file

length = len(file)
print length,' line(s) '
f.close()

I was doing this on there, but he also wanted me to parse and split the files, so clearly I'd use something like argparse for that. Also print the length of each line for him.

I'm just not as comfortable in writing in Python. I never felt I could write anything worthwhile in my Operations roles. Most of the time honestly I use bash for my tasks.

My goal in my previous SRE role was to do more of that, but I was only there less than a year. I did get a certification though so it wasn't all in vain.
Im been using python more to add on to my skill set to go with my networking

ive made simple shyt so far i wanna get to a point where i can automate mostly everything
 

No Homo

Superstar
Joined
May 14, 2012
Messages
18,321
Reputation
4,343
Daps
57,500
Reppin
Jigga with the Roley and the Vest
Did you get get some what close to the answer?

One way to do FizzBuzz in python if anyone is curious :ufdup:

for i in range(1,101):
if i % 15 == 0:
print("FizzBuzz")
elif i % 3 == 0:
print("Fizz")
elif i % 5 == 0:
print("Buzz")
else:
print(i)

:ohhh:

I'm halfway through a python udemy and i somewhat actually understood this :banderas:
 

ViShawn

Superstar
Supporter
Joined
Aug 26, 2015
Messages
15,469
Reputation
6,018
Daps
52,234
Im been using python more to add on to my skill set to go with my networking

ive made simple shyt so far i wanna get to a point where i can automate mostly everything

Breh if you are cracking those 80K jobs programming will get you FAR and get you in the door. It's a gap that is something that I'm missing. Luckily the varying degrees of the programming needed for the DevOps / Site Reliability Engineer roles ranges a lot. Typically if you are a strong systems guy and want to learn more programming they will help. My last role was like that. But there are many roles that I won't get because I don't have any programming experience, so good you're learning.
 

bnm8907

All Star
Joined
Mar 10, 2013
Messages
2,685
Reputation
575
Daps
6,020
Reppin
NULL
I got the 180 day free trial. It was from the Microsoft site
Did you virtualize on one computer?

The last few days I've been reading up on this and it seems to run a lab you need like like 4 computers or use vmware and set up everything. I want to get started learning but I feel like I don't have whats needed.

I know this sounds bad but I dont even have a 64bit computer which from what I've seen is the bare minimum to do all the virtualization you need. Is this true?

Also did you have a resource to walk you through the process of what you needed for your lab? I don't want to keep bothering you with questions.
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2013
Messages
429
Reputation
190
Daps
900
Did you virtualize on one computer?

The last few days I've been reading up on this and it seems to run a lab you need like like 4 computers or use vmware and set up everything. I want to get started learning but I feel like I don't have whats needed.

I know this sounds bad but I dont even have a 64bit computer which from what I've seen is the bare minimum to do all the virtualization you need. Is this true?

Also did you have a resource to walk you through the process of what you needed for your lab? I don't want to keep bothering you with questions.

That would be google. Thats part of learning. if you cant use google to figure out how to do things you havent done before, then you may be in trouble in IT. But when you suffer through a problem and figure it out and finally succeed in getting VMware up and running and creating VMs and setting up a domain... that is great experience.
 

bnm8907

All Star
Joined
Mar 10, 2013
Messages
2,685
Reputation
575
Daps
6,020
Reppin
NULL
That would be google. Thats part of learning. if you cant use google to figure out how to do things you havent done before, then you may be in trouble in IT. But when you suffer through a problem and figure it out and finally succeed in getting VMware up and running and creating VMs and setting up a domain... that is great experience.
I feel u. I guess i was looking to know if there was like a professor messor of the MSCA that I was missing. I know when I firat started my Comptia stuff I didn't know about him and it would have saved me a bunch of time if I had. But, since this is higher level its probably not like that. I just wanted to make sure.
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2013
Messages
429
Reputation
190
Daps
900
I feel u. I guess i was looking to know if there was like a professor messor of the MSCA that I was missing. I know when I firat started my Comptia stuff I didn't know about him and it would have saved me a bunch of time if I had. But, since this is higher level its probably not like that. I just wanted to make sure.
I mean there are courses for certs. But forget that. You need to learn stuff on your own. Do the following and it will be a good start

1. Acquire a cheap desktop and make that your server(even better build a server, you could do this on the cheap for like $300 easy).
2. Turn it into a VMware host by installing VMware ESXI on it. This is free.
3. Create a Windows server VM.
4. Turn it into a domain controller
5. Create VMS for: file server, Exchange, desktop
6. Create users
7. Play with active directory and push settings out to the various VMs

That alone should keep you busy and you will learn a ton of valuable shyt that you can use in many IT roles. Once you get there then look at the text books for MCSA they should have labs that you can practice.
 

bnm8907

All Star
Joined
Mar 10, 2013
Messages
2,685
Reputation
575
Daps
6,020
Reppin
NULL
I mean there are courses for certs. But forget that. You need to learn stuff on your own. Do the following and it will be a good start

1. Acquire a cheap desktop and make that your server(even better build a server, you could do this on the cheap for like $300 easy).
2. Turn it into a VMware host by installing VMware ESXI on it. This is free.
3. Create a Windows server VM.
4. Turn it into a domain controller
5. Create VMS for: file server, Exchange, desktop
6. Create users
7. Play with active directory and push settings out to the various VMs

That alone should keep you busy and you will learn a ton of valuable shyt that you can use in many IT roles. Once you get there then look at the text books for MCSA they should have labs that you can practice.

Thanks for the reply
 
Top